Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Title Group of 8 U.S. postage stamps from Series of 1922, Hoboken, N.J. precancelled.
Object Name Stamp, Postage
Catalog Number 2011.005.0168
Collection Hoboken Postal Collection
Credit Museum Collections. Gift of a friend of the Museum.
Scope & Content Group of eight U.S. postage stamps from Series of 1922, Hoboken, N.J. precancelled. All are single sheet stamps with the Hoboken cancel imprinted on them. Condition is fair with some fading evident. Images of single stamps have been slightly enhanced.

This group is an incomplete set of the Series of 1922 which ran from 1 cent to five dollars and not all were issued in 1922. See notes.

1: Franklin, 1 cent
2: Washington, 2 cent
3: Roosevelt, 5 cent (Teddy or Theodore; known as the T. Roosevelt)
4: Garfield, 6 cent
5: McKinley, 7 cent
6: Monroe, 10 cent
7: Hayes, 11 cent
8: Arlington Amphitheatre, 50 cent (Arlington National Cemetery)

Notes A group previously assembled by a stamp collector of the era, the precancels are likely from ca. 1923-1924. None were released earlier than October 1922 and some were from 1923; precancels on this series apparently started in April 1923.

Some of these American Presidents were appearing on postage for the first time.

The history of the individual stamps (design, color, release dates), printing methods (rotary or flatbed), and the precancel routine are commonly available in the Smithsonian Institution postal history web resources as well as at many other websites. Discussion about the stamp colors which were done in a sequence to conform to international postal conventions can also be found at the Smithsonian site for its postal museum.
Date 1922-1924
Year Range from 1922
Year Range to 1924
Search Terms Post Office
Caption Group of eight U.S. Postage stamps, Hoboken, N.J. pre-cancels; condition
Imagefile 103\20110050168.TIF
Classification Philately
Postal Services