Object Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Title Paperweight: Rededication of the Hoboken Clock Tower. May 9, 2008.
Object Name Paperweight
Catalog Number 2008.002.0015
Collection Hoboken Government & Politics Collection
Credit Museum Collections.
Description Paperweight, commemorative: Rededication of the Hoboken Clock Tower. May 9, 2008. Mayor David Roberts. Issued in Hoboken, June 2009. 3-7/16" square x 5/32" thick pewter-colored metal; silk-screened lettering; adhesive foam rubber bumpers. Two each.

Lettered on the bottom: Hoboken City Council. Theresa Castellano, President; Peter J. Cammarano; Terry La Bruno; Ruben Ramos, Jr.; Elizabeth Mason; Michael Russo; Dawn Zimmer; Peter Cunningham; A. Nino Giacchi. Also: silkscreened below the names, "NJ Transit" in this state agency's logotype.

The item was issued in limited quantities to commemorate the replacement clock tower on the Lackawanna Terminal (which under NJ Transit is called Hoboken Terminal.) The new tower was done in the same architectural style as the the 1907 original as well as a copper clad exterior as the original was covered. The ceremony on the evening of Friday, May 9th included the lighting of the "Lackawanna" letters on tower. The image as depicted on the medal is actually an early 20th century view as determined by the signage for the "Twenty-Third St. Ferry."

Mayor Roberts was instrumental in persuading and gathering support for New Jersey Transit to construct the replacement tower as a faithful, full scale replica of the original.

Note: the item is not square; both examples vary in the same way by ca. 1/16" from square.
Date 2008-2008
Year Range from 2008
Year Range to 2008
People Roberts, David
Search Terms Lackawanna Railroad
Lackawanna Terminal
NJ Transit (New Jersey Transit)
Caption top
Imagefile 063\20080020015.JPG
Classification Mayors
Historic Sites
Government & Politics